Star Casino Review 2026: Payouts, Pokies and Fees Explained
The Star Entertainment Group operates three casinos in Australia: The Star Sydney, The Star Gold Coast and Treasury Brisbane. Combined, the group reported revenue of about $1.68 billion in FY2024, a figure that shrank roughly 14% year on year as regulatory penalties and carded-play reforms bit into the pokies floor. That context matters before you read any review claiming the brand is a straightforward online operator.
Here is the awkward part. "Star casino review" gets searched by two very different crowds. One wants to know whether The Star's physical properties are worth a Friday night in Pyrmont or Broadbeach. The other is looking for an online casino called Star and lands on something else entirely. This page separates the two, because mixing them is how players end up depositing at a brand they never intended to join.
What follows is a data-first breakdown. Licence numbers, tax rates, payout percentages, withdrawal caps, age verification rules and the honest position on offshore lookalikes. No cheerleading, no invented statistics. Where a number is not publicly verifiable, we say so rather than rounding it into something convenient.
What Is Star Casino and Who Actually Owns It?
The Star Entertainment Group is an ASX-listed company (ticker SGR) headquartered in Sydney. It holds casino licences issued by state regulators, not by a national body, which is the first structural fact most reviews skip. New South Wales, Queensland and Victoria each supervise their own venues under separate legislation, and a breach in one jurisdiction does not automatically trigger action in another.
Ownership has been turbulent. In 2024 and 2025 the group ran a series of asset sales and capital raises to stay solvent, including the sale of the Treasury Brisbane leasehold to the Queensland government for $248 million in 2024. Star Sydney remains the flagship, with roughly 1,400 gaming machines and around 130 table games across its Pyrmont site.
Is Star Casino the same as the online Star casino sites?
No. The Star Entertainment Group does not operate a licensed online casino for Australian residents. Any site using "Star" in its name and accepting Australian players is an offshore operator with no connection to the ASX-listed company. That distinction is worth more than any bonus comparison table, because it determines who you can complain to when something goes wrong.
Offshore brands in this space typically hold licences from Curaçao, Anjouan or the Kahnawake Gaming Commission. Those licences permit operation but offer Australian players no statutory dispute mechanism. The Star's land-based licences, by contrast, sit under the NSW Independent Casino Commission and equivalent Queensland bodies, which can fine, suspend or strip a licence outright.
What licences and regulators oversee The Star?
The Star Sydney operates under a licence administered by the NSW Independent Casino Commission. The Star Gold Coast falls under the Queensland Office of Liquor and Gaming Regulation. Both venues were subject to public inquiries in 2021 and 2022 that found extensive anti-money laundering and responsible gambling failures, resulting in penalties and special manager appointments.
Those inquiries produced hard numbers. NSW imposed a $100 million fine in 2022, the maximum available at the time. Queensland followed with a $100 million penalty of its own. AUSTRAC, the federal financial intelligence agency, launched separate civil proceedings over AML/CTF compliance failures that remain among the largest in Australian corporate history.
Star Casino Pokies, Tables and Payout Percentages
Poker machines at Australian casinos are not the same product as pub pokies, and the return figures differ. The Star Sydney's gaming floor runs machines configured to a return-to-player range that state regulation caps. In NSW, casino pokies must return a minimum of 85% to players, with most Star Sydney machines set between 87% and 92% depending on denomination.
Queensland sets a different floor. Machines at The Star Gold Coast must return at least 85%, and the Queensland regulator publishes actual return data annually. That transparency is unusual and useful: it means you can check theoretical versus observed returns rather than trusting marketing copy. Table games operate on house edges that are mathematically fixed and published in most jurisdictions.
| Game type | Typical house edge | Return to player | Where it runs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pokies (low denomination) | 8–13% | 87–92% | Sydney, Gold Coast |
| Blackjack (basic strategy) | 0.5–2% | 98–99.5% | All properties |
| Baccarat | 1.06–1.24% | 98.76–98.94% | All properties |
| Roulette (single zero) | 2.7% | 97.3% | Sydney, Gold Coast |
| Roulette (double zero) | 5.26% | 94.74% | Select floors |
Software on the casino floor comes from established suppliers including Aristocrat, IGT, Light & Wonder and Konami. Online, the same titles appear via providers such as Pragmatic Play, NetEnt, Microgaming, Evolution and Hacksaw Gaming, though those games sit on offshore platforms rather than under The Star's licences. The distinction between the two ecosystems is not cosmetic; it changes your legal position entirely.
How do Star Casino payout times compare with online operators?
Land-based payouts are immediate by definition. You cash chips at the cage, or a pokies ticket at a redemption terminal, and the transaction closes on the spot. There is no pending period, no verification queue and no reversal window. That is the single clearest structural advantage a physical casino holds over any online equivalent.
Online operators work on a different clock. Withdrawal processing ranges from instant to five business days depending on method and jurisdiction. Australian-facing offshore sites often quote 1–24 hours for crypto and 1–3 business days for bank transfers, though actual times depend on internal risk checks that are rarely disclosed in advance.
What are the minimum and maximum bets at The Star?
Pokies denominations at The Star Sydney typically start at 1 cent per credit with maximum bets per spin reaching $10 on standard machines and considerably higher in high-limit rooms. Table minimums vary by pit and time of day. Publicly listed minimums for blackjack sit around $25 on the main floor and rise sharply in private gaming areas.
High-limit rooms operate on invitation or application. Minimums there are not published, and the casino does not disclose them on request in most cases. If you are comparing this to an online operator advertising $1 minimum tables, you are comparing a regulated physical floor with an offshore server, and the two are not substitutes for one another.
Deposits, Withdrawals and Fees at The Star
Cash is still the primary instrument on the casino floor. The Star's properties accept cash, debit cards at ATMs and cage facilities, and chip purchases via approved payment methods. Credit card use for gambling has been banned in Australia since 2020 under the Interactive Gambling Act amendments, and that ban applies to land-based casino transactions as well.
Fees are where the comparison gets interesting. The Star does not charge a deposit fee because there is no deposit in the online sense. What it does charge, in effect, is the house edge, and on pokies that edge is materially higher than what a regulated online market would impose. In markets with legal online casino, typical pokies RTP sits at 96% or above.
| Cost factor | The Star (land-based) | Offshore online casino |
|---|---|---|
| Deposit fee | None (cash purchase) | Usually none, 1–3% on some cards |
| Withdrawal fee | None at cage | $0–$50 depending on method |
| Pokies RTP ceiling | 92% typical | 96–97% on licensed markets |
| Currency conversion | N/A | 0–3.5% on AUD deposits |
| Inactivity fee | None | $5–$30 per month, some brands |
That table is the honest core of this review. A land-based casino in Australia gives you certainty, immediate settlement and legal recourse, but you pay for it through a lower theoretical return. An offshore site offers a higher RTP and sometimes faster crypto withdrawals, but you trade away every statutory protection you would otherwise hold.
Does Star Casino charge withdrawal fees?
No. Cashing out at The Star's cage carries no fee, and there is no pending period or reversal window. You present chips or a ticket, receive cash, and the transaction is complete. For large amounts, the casino may require identification and will file a threshold transaction report under AML rules, but that is a compliance step rather than a fee.
Threshold reporting in Australia kicks in at $10,000 for cash transactions under the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorism Financing Act. That applies to deposits as well as withdrawals. Casinos must also file suspicious matter reports regardless of amount, and those filings are not disclosed to the customer.
How long do Star Casino withdrawals take?
Instant, in practical terms. A cage cashout is completed in minutes. The delays people associate with casino withdrawals come from online operators running internal risk checks, not from land-based properties. If you have ever waited three days for an offshore site to release funds, you were experiencing a policy, not a banking limitation.
Online processing windows vary widely. Some brands advertise 1–2 hours for cryptocurrency and 1–5 business days for bank transfers. Others impose a pending period of 24–72 hours before the request even enters the queue. None of those timeframes exist on a physical gaming floor, which is a genuine and underrated advantage.
The Offshore "Star" Problem: Lookalike Brands and Grey-Market Promises
Search results for this term are polluted with operators that borrow the Star name, or a close variant, and pair it with promises no licensed venue could legally make. "No verification required," "instant withdrawal guaranteed," "Australian players welcome, no KYC." Those phrases are the tell. A regulated operator cannot offer them, and an unregulated one offering them is telling you exactly what it is.
Licensing is the filter that matters. Legitimate operators in this segment hold Curaçao, Anjouan or Kahnawake licences and disclose the licence number in the footer. That does not make them illegal to use from Australia, but it does mean your dispute resolution path runs through an offshore regulator with limited enforcement reach, not through an Australian tribunal.
The other tell is bonus structure. Offshore sites routinely advertise matched deposits of 100% up to $1,000 or more, with wagering requirements of 30x to 60x on the bonus amount. Run the arithmetic: a $500 bonus at 40x wagering requires $20,000 in total bets before a single dollar converts to withdrawable cash. That is not a gift. It is a turnover contract.
How do you verify an offshore casino before depositing?
Check the licence number and confirm it against the regulator's public register, not the operator's own claims. Look for a named company entity, a registered address and a stated dispute resolution process. If the site lists no corporate entity, no licence number and no complaints mechanism, you have your answer without depositing anything.
Payment method is the second filter. Reputable offshore operators support mainstream methods with disclosed processing times. Sites that accept only cryptocurrency, or that push a single obscure payment processor, are narrowing your options for a reason. That reason is usually chargeback avoidance, and it works against you, not for you.
What are the real risks of grey-market operators?
The core risk is not that the games are rigged. Most offshore operators run certified RNG software from providers like Pragmatic Play or BGaming, and those certifications are real. The risk is that when a dispute arises over a withdrawal, a bonus term or an account closure, you have no enforceable remedy. The licence exists, but its reach does not extend to you.
Secondary risks are financial. Currency conversion on AUD deposits can cost 2–3.5% per transaction. Inactivity fees of $5–$30 per month appear in the terms of several brands and are rarely mentioned at signup. Account dormancy clauses can void balances after 6–12 months of inactivity in some jurisdictions, and those clauses are legal under the operator's licence.
Responsible Gambling, Age Rules and Support in Australia
Gambling in Australia is restricted to people aged 18 and over in every state and territory. Casinos enforce this through ID checks at entry, and online operators are required to verify age before allowing deposits. Offshore sites that skip verification are not doing you a favour; they are removing a control that exists to protect you.
Australia operates a national self-exclusion framework through BetStop, launched in August 2023. It is a single register covering all licensed Australian online wagering providers, with registration periods of 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 2 years or permanently. Once registered, licensed operators must stop sending you marketing and must not accept your bets.
Support is available around the clock. The national gambling helpline is 1800 858 858, operating 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, with free and confidential counselling. Gambling Help Online provides chat and email support, and each state runs its own equivalent service. The Star's properties also operate on-site responsible gambling programs and voluntary exclusion schemes.
- BetStop national self-exclusion register: minimum 3 months, maximum permanent
- National helpline: 1800 858 858, free, 24/7
- Legal gambling age: 18 across all Australian states and territories
- Credit card gambling ban: in force since 2020 for online, extended to land-based
- Threshold transaction reporting: $10,000 cash, under AML/CTF Act
Set limits before you play rather than after. Deposit caps, session timers and loss thresholds work only when they are set in advance, because the decision you make mid-session is the one least likely to be rational. That applies equally to a $25 blackjack table in Pyrmont and a $200 deposit at an offshore site with a Curaçao licence.
Does The Star have a self-exclusion program?
Yes. The Star operates a voluntary exclusion scheme across its properties, allowing patrons to ban themselves from gaming areas for a set period or permanently. The scheme is administered in coordination with state regulators, and breach of a self-exclusion agreement by the venue carries regulatory consequences, not just internal ones.
For online gambling, BetStop is the relevant register, and it covers licensed Australian operators. Offshore sites are not bound by BetStop, which is another practical argument for sticking to regulated venues if self-exclusion matters to you. A register you cannot be added to is not a protection.
What should you check before choosing any casino?
Four things: licence number and regulator, published RTP on the games you actually play, withdrawal terms including any pending period, and the presence of a named corporate entity. If any of those four is missing or vague, the operator has told you something important without meaning to, and the correct response is to keep your money.
Bonus terms deserve a specific look. Wagering requirements above 40x, game-weighting that excludes pokies from contributing to turnover, and maximum cashout caps on winnings are the three clauses that most often turn a headline bonus into a liability. Read them before depositing, not after a withdrawal is declined.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Star Casino a real online casino for Australian players?
No. The Star Entertainment Group does not run a licensed online casino for Australian residents. Any site using the Star name to accept Australian players is an offshore operator with no connection to the ASX-listed company, and it will hold a Curaçao, Anjouan or similar licence rather than an Australian one.
What is the minimum age to gamble at The Star?
18 across every Australian state and territory. The Star enforces this with ID checks at entry, and licensed online operators must verify age before accepting deposits. Offshore sites that skip verification are removing a control designed to protect you, which is not a feature worth celebrating.
What is the RTP on Star Casino pokies?
NSW casino pokies must return at least 85% to players, with most Star Sydney machines configured between 87% and 92%. Queensland applies an 85% minimum at The Star Gold Coast and publishes actual return data annually. For comparison, licensed online markets typically run pokies at 96% or higher.
Does The Star charge fees on withdrawals?
No. Cage cashouts carry no fee and settle immediately. The casino may request identification for large amounts and will file a threshold transaction report at $10,000 under the AML/CTF Act, but that is a compliance obligation rather than a charge against your balance.
How do I self-exclude from gambling in Australia?
Register with BetStop, the national self-exclusion scheme launched in August 2023. It covers all licensed Australian wagering providers and offers terms of 3 months, 6 months, 12 months, 2 years or permanent. The national helpline, 1800 858 858, runs 24/7 for support and referral.
Are offshore Star casino lookalikes safe to use?
They are legal to access from Australia if they hold a valid offshore licence, but "safe" is a different question. You have no enforceable dispute mechanism, no BetStop coverage and no Australian regulatory recourse. Bonus terms with 40x wagering and cashout caps are common, and those terms favour the operator.
The practical conclusion is unglamorous. If you want The Star, you are choosing a physical venue in Sydney, the Gold Coast or Brisbane, with an 85–92% pokies return, instant cashouts and full Australian regulatory protection. If you want an online casino, the Star name will not get you one, and the sites that pretend otherwise are selling a licence you cannot enforce. Weigh those two positions honestly, set your limits before you sit down, and treat any promise of guaranteed instant withdrawals as the marketing line it is.